Review: Body on Baker Street by Vicki Delany

Body on Baker Street by Vicki Delany

Series: Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery #2

Genre: Mystery, Cozy

Setting: Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Source: Ebook, purchased

Publishing Date: 2017

297 pages

Synopsis: Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table–dead. Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

My thoughts

This is the first book I’ve read in this series. I could tell there were things that had happened that I didn’t know about from the first book, but I didn’t have any trouble understanding the characters or story.

My favorite series by Vicki Delany is the Constable Molly Smith series, but I did enjoy this cozy mystery. Gemma Doyle is an enjoyable character to read about. I did get annoyed with her when she continued to go out of her way to annoy Detective Louise Estrada. Estrada doesn’t like Gemma and would love to arrest her for anything. Gemma knows this and it seems silly to continue to irritate her.

I like the Sherlock Holmes bookstore and the tea shop that’s attached. I’d love to find a bookstore and tea shop like that. I also thought some of the over-the-top characters were very funny. They fit into the plot very well. Donald Morris who is an overly devoted Sherlock fan was especially amusing. He dresses like Sherlock and talks about the books and the characters as though they’re real. I like that the author pokes fun at overly enthusiastic fans. And there are lots of them in this book.

The mystery is good. It kept me guessing. There are plenty of suspects though the poisoning is done in front of a big group. I plan to read other books in the series.

My Rating: B

Have you read any books by this author?

Reading Challenges

Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge hosted by Stormi @ Books, Movies, Reviews! Oh My!

POPSUGAR Reading Challenge hosted by the POPSUGAR website — A book that involves a bookstore or library

Can’t-Wait Wednesday: A Scandal in Scarlet by Vicki Delany

Can’t-Wait Wednesday is hosted by Tressa at Wishful Endings. This is a weekly meme to spotlight and discuss the books we’re excited about that we have yet to read. The books I choose aren’t released yet and usually won’t be published for at least two or three months. So I have a while to wait!

I love finding out about books which will publish in future months and I like to share my excitement about the books. I also like to find out about new books on other people’s blogs and hope they’ll sometimes find something to look forward to on my blog.

I’m excited to read . . .

a scandal in scarlet by vicki delanyA Scandal in Scarlet by Vicki Delany

Series: A Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery #4

Published by Crooked Lane Books

Publishing date: November 13

Genre: Mystery, Cozy

Synopsis: Walking her dog Violet late one night, Gemma Doyle, owner of the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop, acts quickly when she smells smoke outside the West London Museum. Fortunately no one is inside, but it’s too late to save the museum’s priceless collection of furniture, and damage to the historic house is extensive. Baker Street’s shop owners come together to hold an afternoon auction tea to raise funds to rebuild, and Great Uncle Arthur Doyle offers a signed first edition of The Valley of Fear. 

Cape Cod’s cognoscenti files into Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room, owned by Gemma’s best friend, Jayne Wilson. Excitement fills the air (along with the aromas of Jayne’s delightful scones, of course). But the auction never happens. Before the gavel can fall, museum board chair Kathy Lamb is found dead in the back room. Wrapped tightly around her neck is a long rope of decorative knotted tea cups—a gift item that Jayne sells at Mrs. Hudson’s. Gemma’s boyfriend in blue, Ryan Ashburton, arrives on the scene with Detective Louise Estrada. But the suspect list is long, and the case far from elementary. Does Kathy’s killing have any relation to a mysterious death of seven years ago? 

…………………

I’ve read one of this mystery series and liked it. I’ve bought another in the series so I’m happy to see this one coming out soon. Vicki Delany is also the author of one of my favorite mystery series–the Constable Molly Smith series.