Review: Body on Baker Street by Vicki Delany

Body on Baker Street by Vicki Delany

Series: Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Mystery #2

Genre: Mystery, Cozy

Setting: Cape Cod, Massachusetts

Source: Ebook, purchased

Publishing Date: 2017

297 pages

Synopsis: Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table–dead. Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

My thoughts

This is the first book I’ve read in this series. I could tell there were things that had happened that I didn’t know about from the first book, but I didn’t have any trouble understanding the characters or story.

My favorite series by Vicki Delany is the Constable Molly Smith series, but I did enjoy this cozy mystery. Gemma Doyle is an enjoyable character to read about. I did get annoyed with her when she continued to go out of her way to annoy Detective Louise Estrada. Estrada doesn’t like Gemma and would love to arrest her for anything. Gemma knows this and it seems silly to continue to irritate her.

I like the Sherlock Holmes bookstore and the tea shop that’s attached. I’d love to find a bookstore and tea shop like that. I also thought some of the over-the-top characters were very funny. They fit into the plot very well. Donald Morris who is an overly devoted Sherlock fan was especially amusing. He dresses like Sherlock and talks about the books and the characters as though they’re real. I like that the author pokes fun at overly enthusiastic fans. And there are lots of them in this book.

The mystery is good. It kept me guessing. There are plenty of suspects though the poisoning is done in front of a big group. I plan to read other books in the series.

My Rating: B

Have you read any books by this author?

Reading Challenges

Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge hosted by Stormi @ Books, Movies, Reviews! Oh My!

POPSUGAR Reading Challenge hosted by the POPSUGAR website — A book that involves a bookstore or library