How I choose what to read next

Tell Me Something Tuesday is a weekly discussion post hosted by Rainy Day Ramblings where a range of topics from books to blogging are discussed.

This week we’re talking about: The things we’re drawn to when choosing our next reads. I’m very much a mood reader so at any one time I have lots of books I’m thinking about reading. However, a book may sit on my Kindle for months (maybe a few years) before I finally decide to read it. Sometimes I forget about it and sometimes I’m just not wanting to read that author or that particular book anymore. So how do I choose what to read next?

Here are the things I consider:

  1. Other people’s reviews and recommendations–I get a lot of recommendations from other bloggers. I love reading other bloggers’ reviews plus sometimes bloggers recommend a specific book to me either on my blog or on Goodreads.
  2. The author–If I’ve read other things by an author and liked them I might decide to get another book by the author.
  3. The next book in a series I love–When I can get the next book in a series that I love I usually like to read the book soon.
  4. The synopsis–I don’t usually read the whole synopsis since I don’t want to spoil the book, but I do read a little so I have an idea whether it’s the type of book I want to read.
  5. Books on sale, inexpensive or found at the library–I can’t afford to pay $10 for ebooks (which seems to be the price point these days for a lot ebooks.) (Probably 99% of my books are ebooks or audiobooks these days because it’s easier for me to read and listen to them.) If I can’t find a digital copy at the library or it doesn’t go on sale sometimes I don’t ever read the book.
  6. Books with exotic settings–Sometimes I like to read books set in places other than the United States (or in a different part of the States than I live). Most of the fantasy and science fiction I read also count as an exotic setting.
  7. The genre–Sometimes I’m in the mood for a mystery and sometimes a science fiction or fantasy. Occasionally I will read a different genre, but right now I’m reading mostly those three genres.
  8. Reading challenges–I like to join book challenges each year and sometimes I wouldn’t have found a book that I read except that it fits one of the challenges.
  9. The cover–Sometimes I’m browsing on Goodreads or Kirkus or another site and I see a great cover which encourages me to find out more about the book. However, I have to confess that I’ve never read a book just because I liked the cover.

Since I was looking for a book to read yesterday I decided to show the books I’m considering reading next & why:

Shadow Dancing by Julie Mulhern–The next book in one of my favorite mystery series.

The Salaryman’s Wife by Sujata Massey–I read a book by this author a few months ago plus this one is set in Japan.

Murder at Cape Three Points by Kwei Quartey–It’s a mystery set in Ghana and the ebook was on sale (but it’s the third in the series)

The Cat Who Walked a Thousand Miles by Kij Johnson–a fantasy short story about a cat and has a great looking cover.

No Time Like the Past by Jodi Taylor–the next book in a time travel series (exotic setting).  (Originally recommended by Li @ Me and My Books).

Drifters’ Alliance, Book 1 by Elle Casey–reviewed by Sarah @ Brainfluff.

………………..

And the book I chose? Shadow Dancing by Julie Mulhern

What about you? How do you choose the next book to read?

Author: Jan

I love to read--especially mysteries, science fiction and fantasy. I also love blogging, photography, gardening, playing Mah Jonng, reading with a cat on my lap, throwing a ball for a dog, creating cards to send to family and friends, reading book blogs, using my computer.

6 thoughts on “How I choose what to read next”

  1. If I’m buying books, I mostly consider the price. I can’t usually afford brand new books, so I have to find them secondhand. The cheaper, the better. If I already own the book, I pick whatever I’m most excited about at the moment. I try to prioritize the books that have been sitting around the longest.

    Like

    1. Those are good ways to figure out what to read next, AJ! I agree that the cheaper the better is how I choose books to buy. Since I read mostly ebooks I’m always looking for deals and I read quite a few self-published books.

      Like

  2. Yes, I totally agree with how you select your reads, we have similar ideas on it. I enjoyed prerusing through your next reading picks. Hope whatever you pick it is wonderful.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Heidi! Sometimes it takes me a day or two decide what I’m going to read next–and I tend to be grumpy if I don’t have a book to read!

      Like

Comments are closed.