WoW: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Krisiti Charish

I’m participating in Waiting on Wednesday occasionally. Breaking the Spine blog hosts Waiting on Waiting-on-WednesdayWednesday–a time each week we can spotlight upcoming releases. Visit the blog to find out more information and to leave your link on her blog.

 

The book I’m excited about this week:

Owl and the Japanese Circus

by Kristi Charish

Series: The Adventures of Owl #1

Publication Date: January 13, 2015

Synopsis from Goodreads: Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world.

Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now as Owl—has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. He insists Owl retrieve an artifact stolen three thousand years ago, and makes her an offer she can’t refuse: he’ll get rid of a pack of vampires that want her dead. A dragon is about the only entity on the planet that can deliver on Owl’s vampire problem – and let’s face it, dragons are known to eat the odd thief.

Owl retraces the steps of Mr. Kurosawa’s ancient thief from Japan to Bali with the help of her best friend, Nadya, and an attractive mercenary. As it turns out though, finding the scroll is the least of her worries. When she figures out one of Mr. Kurosawa’s trusted advisors is orchestrating a plan to use a weapon powerful enough to wipe out a city, things go to hell in a hand basket fast…and Owl has to pick sides.

……………………………..

What made me pick this book:

  • The title of the book really caught my attention.
  • I like dragons and the archaeology angle sounds great.
  • I received an e-ARC from NetGalley so I definitely plan to read this soon.
  • I like to find new authors to read and I believe this is a debut author. It is also the first book in a new series with the next book probably coming out sometime next summer.

Author: Jan

I love to read--especially mysteries, science fiction and fantasy. I also love blogging, photography, gardening, playing Mah Jonng, reading with a cat on my lap, throwing a ball for a dog, creating cards to send to family and friends, reading book blogs, using my computer.

6 thoughts on “WoW: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Krisiti Charish”

Comments are closed.