Review: Fair Game and Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs

I read both of these books in March and they are by the same author so I’m going to review them together.

Fair Game
by Patricia Briggs
Series: Alpha & Omega, Book 3
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Published by: Ace, 2012
E-book, purchased
304 pages
Grade: A
Synopsis: It is said that opposites attract. And in the case of werewolves Anna Latham and Charles Cornick, they mate. The son—and enforcer—of the leader of the North American werewolves, Charles is a dominant Alpha. While Anna, an Omega, has the rare ability to calm others of her kind.

When the FBI requests the pack’s help on a local serial-killer case, Charles and Anna are sent to Boston to join the investigation. It soon becomes clear that someone is targeting the preternatural. And now Anna and Charles have put themselves right in the killer’s sights…


frost_burned_bigFrost Burned
by Patricia Briggs
Series: Mercy Thompson, Book 7
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Published by: Ace, 2013
E-book, purchased
352 pages
Grade: A
Synopsis: Mercy Thompson’s life has undergone a seismic change. Becoming the mate of Adam Hauptman—the charismatic Alpha of the local werewolf pack—has made her a stepmother to his daughter Jesse, a relationship that brings moments of blissful normalcy to Mercy’s life. But on the edges of humanity, what passes for a minor mishap on an ordinary day can turn into so much more…

After an accident in bumper-to-bumper traffic, Mercy and Jesse can’t reach Adam—or anyone else in the pack for that matter. They’ve all been abducted.

Through their mating bond, all Mercy knows is that Adam is angry and in pain. With the werewolves fighting a political battle to gain acceptance from the public, Mercy fears Adam’s disappearance may be related—and that he and the pack are in serious danger. Outclassed and on her own, Mercy may be forced to seek assistance from any ally she can get, no matter how unlikely.


These books both take place in the same world, but with different main characters. With both these books we are well into this world and these series and these characters. I’m not going to talk too much about the stories because if you haven’t read these series you need to begin at the beginning…mainly because you’re in for a real treat and have lots of great stories to read. But also these stories have an overall story arc as well as a complete story in each book.

Fair Game: The Alpha & Omega series is the newer series and features the werewolves Anna and Charles who are mates. This is the third book in the series and my favorite in this series so far. Anna and Charles travel to Boston to assist the FBI in finding a serial killer. The story is a good one and the relationship between Anna and Charles feels so real. Anna keeps Charles grounded, but he has shut her out emotionally because he’s his father’s enforcer. Every time he has to enforce the werewolf laws (sometimes having to kill a werewolf) he shuts down a little more.

This book is about finding the serial killer, interactions between the federal agents and the supernatural world, and Anna and Charles finding their way in their relationship. Helping the FBI in Boston seems like it will be a break from Charles’s usual work. However, this serial killer is targeting the preternatural. This isn’t exactly a vacation for Anna and Charles! This book also moves the story arc in the series in some surprising ways.

Frost Burned: These two stories are connected. This book (book 7 in the Mercy Thompson series) takes place several months after Fair Game ends and there have been a number of ramifications from the events which occurred in Fair Game.

While she’s shopping with her stepdaughter Jesse, Mercy realizes through their mating bond that Adam is angry and in pain. Mercy has to figure out what has happened to Adam and the pack. Again, the relationship between the main characters Mercy and Adam is very special. They love each other, Jesse and the werewolf pack. They are friends and they compliment each other. They help each other and their friends. Each are hurt in different ways, but they save each other. Mercy is a tough, competent woman and though she’s been through a lot both in this book and previous books she endures and comes back stronger. But she doesn’t do it alone. She has friends and loved ones who care about her just as she cares about them. That’s one of the things I enjoy about both these series–the relationships between the characters.

It’s hard for me to pick a favorite author or series, but Patricia Briggs is certainly in my top 5!

Author: Jan

I love to read--especially mysteries, science fiction and fantasy. I also love blogging, photography, gardening, playing Mah Jonng, reading with a cat on my lap, throwing a ball for a dog, creating cards to send to family and friends, reading book blogs, using my computer.

One thought on “Review: Fair Game and Frost Burned by Patricia Briggs”

Comments are closed.