Posts Tagged: historical mystery

April books on my list

April books on my list

March 31, 2016 2016, books on my list . . . 2

Each month I write about the books I’ve noticed and think might be good. Sometimes they’re from favorite authors and sometimes a new author strikes my fancy. I don’t get all the books (not during the month they’re released at least)–since I already have way too many books to read. And I’m trying to limit the new books I get each month to the ones I’m going to read soon. Right…that doesn’t always work…lol. But the list I make each month helps me not forget books. The Goodreads links help me keep track of these books. And I hope people reading my post may find some new books, too! I… Read more »

Divider

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy

February 8, 2016 2016, B, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy Series: A Jake and Laura Mystery #4 Genre: Historical Mystery Setting: NYC & Pennsylvania, the Great Depression (1935) Published by Alibi, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: February 9) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 237 pages Grade: B Synopsis: The irresistible Jake & Laura return in Michael Murphy’s witty, fast-paced mystery series—perfect for readers of Dorothy Cannell and Christopher Fowler. In The Big Brush-off, the charming and indomitable duo heads to the Midwest to solve a chilling cold case of a young girl’s murder. Blackie Doyle… Read more »

Divider

February books on my list

February books on my list

February 5, 2016 2016, books on my list . . . 6

Each month I write about the books I’ve noticed and think might be good. Sometimes they’re from favorite authors and sometimes new authors strike my fancy. I don’t buy all the books (not during the month they’re released at least)–since I already have way too many books to read and often too expensive. I’m trying to limit the new books I buy each month to the ones I’m going to read soon. But the list I make each month helps me not forget books. The Goodreads links help me keep track of these books. And I hope people reading my post may find some new books, too! I also hope… Read more »

Divider

Mystery Reviews

Mystery Reviews

January 22, 2016 2015, 2016, B, B-, B+, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews, TBR Pile 2

I have a few books I read in 2015, but didn’t get reviewed. I’ve decided to group them together in three or four posts. Mysteries come first! A Man of Some Repute by Elizabeth Edmondson A Very English Mystery #1 Published 2015, 306 pages Historical Mystery–England, 1953 I really enjoyed this mystery. I haven’t read too many books written in this time period. Real events are the background for this historical mystery. Donald Maclean and Guy Burgess defected to the Soviet Union in the summer of 1951. They were both part of what later became known as the Cambridge Spy Ring because they were recruited in the 1930’s when they… Read more »

Divider

Top Ten Tuesday–New to my TBR

Top Ten Tuesday–New to my TBR

January 19, 2016 2016, Top Ten Tuesday 8

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted at the Broke and the Bookish blog. Each week a different topic is introduced and it is fun to see what everyone writes each week. Check out their blog for more information. This week I’m talking about books I’ve recently added to my TBR list. Since I’m often adding books I’ve chosen the ten books I’ve added that I’m most excited about. Marked in Flesh by Anne Bishop Netgalley book–comes out March 8. 4th book in this fantasy series and I’ve loved all of them. One of my most anticipated 2016 reads. …………………… Harmony Black by Craig Schaefer The first book in a… Read more »

Divider

January books on my list

January books on my list

January 4, 2016 2016, books on my list . . . 4

  Each month I write about the books I’ve noticed and think might be good. Sometimes they’re from favorite authors and sometimes new author strikes my fancy. I don’t buy all the books (not during the month they’re released at least)–since I already have way too many books to read. I’m trying to limit the new books I buy each month to the ones I’m going to read soon. But the list I make each month helps me not forget books. The Goodreads links help me keep track of these books. And I hope people reading my post may find some new books, too! I also hope they will point… Read more »

Divider

2016 most anticipated new-to-me authors and their books

2016 most anticipated new-to-me authors and their books

December 29, 2015 2015, 2016, Top Ten Tuesday 11

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme I take part in when I can think up answers! It’s a great meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog. Every week they suggest a new book-related topic. It’s not only fun to think about my list, but to read what other people come up with! This week I’m talking about the books I’m most anticipating in the first half of 2016. I’ve decided to just list the new-to-me authors and their books since I have so many new authors and their books I want to read! Born in a Burial Gown by Mike Craven Mystery (police procedural) A police procedural… Read more »

Divider

Death Comes to the Village by Catherine Lloyd

Death Comes to the Village by Catherine Lloyd

December 10, 2015 2015, B, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

Death Comes to the Village by Catherine Lloyd Series: Kurland St. Mary Mystery #1 Genre: Historical Mystery (cozy) Setting: Rural England, 1816 Published by Kensington, 2013 E-book, Kindle Unlimited 282 pages Grade: B Synopsis: A wounded soldier and a rector’s daughter discover strange goings-on in the sleepy village of Kurland St. Mary in Catherine Lloyd’s charming Regency-set mystery debut. Major Robert Kurland has returned to the quiet vistas of his village home to recuperate from the horrors of Waterloo. However injured his body may be, his mind is as active as ever. Too active, perhaps. When he glimpses a shadowy figure from his bedroom window struggling with a heavy load, the… Read more »

Divider

December books on my list

December books on my list

December 3, 2015 2015, books on my list . . . 8

Each month I write about books due to publish that month which I think might be good. Sometimes favorite authors, sometimes new authors. I don’t buy all the books since I already have way too many books to read. I try to limit the new books I buy each month to the ones I’m going to read soon. But the list I make each month helps me not forget books. The Goodreads links help me keep track of these books. And I hope people reading my post may find some new books, too! I also hope they will point me toward books I missed. I did miss a couple of… Read more »

Divider

2016 debut novels

2016 debut novels

December 1, 2015 2015, Top Ten Tuesday 14

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme I take part in when I can think up answers! It’s a great meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog. Every week they suggest a new book-related topic. It’s not only fun to think about my list, but to read what other people come up with! This week we are looking at 2016 debut novels we are excited to get our hands on. These are the Top Ten 2016 debut books I’ve found out about so far. I’m sure there’ll be many more next year! Assassin’s Heart by Sarah Ahiers Genre: YA Fantasy Publish date: Feb 2 Synopsis: In the kingdom… Read more »

Divider