May 2017 books on my list

May 2, 2017 2017, books on my list . . . 8

These are the May books on my list. I keep a list of all the books I might want to read and add to it as the year goes on. As each month comes along I create a list on my blog for others and for me to keep track of asbooks-on-my-list the months go by.

I don’t buy all these books–since I already have way too many books to read and some of the new books are expensive. I’m trying to stick to a budget.

I hope people reading my post find some new books to read. I also hope these people will point me toward books I missed.

May 2

Murder Between the Lines

by Radha Vatsal

Series: Kitty Weeks Mystery

Published by Sourcebook Landmark

Genre: Historical Mystery

336 pages

Synopsis: In the second book in the acclaimed Kitty Weeks Mystery series, Kitty is tasked with writing a story about Westfield Hall, a prestigious girls’ boarding school. Tragedy strikes when a student named Elspeth is found frozen to death in Central Park. The doctors proclaim that the girl’s sleepwalking was the cause, but Kitty isn’t so sure.

Determined to uncover the truth, Kitty must investigate a more chilling scenario—a murder that may involve Elspeth’s scientist father and a new invention by Thomas Edison.

For fans of Susan Elia MacNeal and Jacqueline Winspear, Murder Between the Lines is a rich and spirited novel with irresistible charm, combining true historical events with a thrilling mystery.

The Gathering Edge

by Sharon Lee & Steve Miller

Series: Liaden Universe #20

Published by Baen

Genre: Science Fiction, Space Opera

368 pages

Synopsis: The luck runs rough around Theo Waitley. Not only are people trying to kill her and capture the self-aware intelligent ship Bechimo to whom Theo is bonded, they’re also trying to arrest her crew members, and throw the dignity of an important passenger, the duly-constituted norbear ambassador Hevelin, into question.

No wonder Theo and her crew felt the need of a break, and retired to what Bechimo refers to as “safe space.” Unfortunately, safe space may not be so safe, anymore.  It seems that things are leaking through from another universe, and another time. In fact, whole spaceships are coming through.  One of those ships is a blasted battleship seemingly fleeing a long-lost war. What’s more, its crew may be members of Theo’s ancient ancestral line—her relatives. It’s certain that they are in dire need of help. Theo has a choice to make. It seems that Bechimo’s “safe space” is about to become deadly perilous.

All Systems Red

by Martha Wells

Series: The Murderbot Diaries #1

Published by Tor.com

Genre: Science Fiction Novella

144 pages

Synopsis: In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety.

But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn’t a primary concern.

On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied ‘droid — a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as “Murderbot.” Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is.

But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it’s up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.

A Purely Private Matter

by Darcie Wilde

Series: Rosalind Thorne Mysteries #2

Genre: Historical Cozy Mystery

368 pages

Synopsis: The Rosalind Thorne mystery series—inspired by the novels of Jane Austen—continues as the audacious Rosalind strives to aid those in need while navigating the halls of high society…

Rosalind Thorne has slowly but assuredly gained a reputation as “a useful woman”—by helping respectable women out of some less-than-respectable predicaments.

Her latest endeavor is a tragedy waiting to happen. Desperate Margaretta Seymore is with child—and her husband is receiving poisoned pen letters that imply that her condition is the result of an affair with the notorious actor Fletcher Cavendish. Margaretta asks Rosalind to find out who is behind the scurrilous letters. But before she can make any progress, Cavendish is found dead, stabbed through the heart.

Suddenly, Rosalind is plunged into the middle of one of the most sensational murder trials London has ever seen, and her client’s husband is the prime suspect. With the help of the charming Bow Street runner Adam Harkness, she must drop the curtain on this fatal drama before any more lives are ruined.

May 6

Less Than a Treason

by Dana Stabenow

Series: Kate Shugak #21

Published by Gere Donovan Press

Genre: Mystery

132 pages

Synopsis: Two thousand people go missing in Alaska every year.

They vanish in the middle of mountain footraces, on fishing boats in the Bering Sea, on small planes in the Bush. Now a geologist known for going walkabout with his rock hammer has disappeared from the Suulutaq Mine in the Park. Was it deliberate? An accident? Foul play? Kate Shugak may be the only person who can find out.

But for the fact that Kate, too, is among the missing…

May 9

Killing Gravity

by Corey J. White

Series: Voidwitch Saga #1

Published by Tor.com

Genre: Science Fiction

176 pages

Synopsis: Mariam Xi can kill you with her mind. She escaped the MEPHISTO lab where she was raised as a psychic supersoldier, which left her with terrifying capabilities, a fierce sense of independence, a deficit of trust and an experimental pet named Seven. She’s spent her life on the run, but the boogeymen from her past are catching up with her. An encounter with a bounty hunter has left her hanging helpless in a dying spaceship, dependent on the mercy of strangers.

Penned in on all sides, Mariam chases rumors to find the one who sold her out. To discover the truth and defeat her pursuers, she’ll have to stare into the abyss and find the secrets of her past, her future, and her terrifying potential.

May 23

River of Teeth

by Sarah Galley

Series: River of Teeth #1

Published by Tor.com

Genre: Alternate History Novella

152 pages

Synopsis: In the early 20th Century, the United States government concocted a plan to import hippopotamuses into the marshlands of Louisiana to be bred and slaughtered as an alternative meat source. This is true.

Other true things about hippos: they are savage, they are fast, and their jaws can snap a man in two.

This was a terrible plan.

Contained within this volume is an 1890s America that might have been: a bayou overrun by feral hippos and mercenary hippo wranglers from around the globe. It is the story of Winslow Houndstooth and his crew. It is the story of their fortunes. It is the story of his revenge.

Watching the Detectives

by Julie Mulhorn

Series: The Country Club Murders #5

Published by Henery Press

Genre: Mystery

234 pages

Synopsis: Ellison Russell wanted a decorator, not a corpse. Too bad she finds Mrs. White in the study killed with a revolver. Things go from bad to worse when she finds Mr. White in the dining room killed with a candlestick. With so many bodies, is it any wonder Detective Anarchy Jones’ new partner considers Ellison a suspect?

With the country club gossips talking a mile a minute, an unexpected cocktail party, a visit from Aunt Sis, and a romantic decision, Ellison hardly has time to think about murder. Unfortunately, the killer has plenty of time to think about her.

May 30

White Hot

by Ilona Andrews

Series: Hidden Legacy #2

Published by Avon

Genre: Fantasy Romance

416 pages

Synopsis: Nevada Baylor has a unique and secret skill—she knows when people are lying—and she’s used that magic (along with plain, hard work) to keep her colorful and close-knit family’s detective agency afloat. But her new case pits her against the shadowy forces that almost destroyed the city of Houston once before, bringing Nevada back into contact with Connor “Mad” Rogan.

Rogan is a billionaire Prime—the highest rank of magic user—and as unreadable as ever, despite Nevada’s “talent.” But there’s no hiding the sparks between them. Now that the stakes are even higher, both professionally and personally, and their foes are unimaginably powerful, Rogan and Nevada will find that nothing burns like ice …

Lightning in the Blood

by Marie Brennan

Series: Ree Varekai #2

Published by Tor.com

Genre: Fantasy Novella

112 pages

Synopsis: Once, there was a call–a binding–and so, a woman appeared, present in body but absent in knowledge of her past self. Making the ultimate journey of rediscovery was not without its own pitfalls–or rewards–and now Ree, a roaming Archeron, spirit of legend and time and physically now bound to her current form, has yet to fully uncover her true identity.

Ree has spent her last innumerable seasons on the move–orbiting, in some sense, the lands of her only friend in this world, Aadet, who has become intricately involved in the new post-revolution politics of his people. Swinging back from the forests surrounding Solaike, Ree falls in with another wandering band, some Korenat refugees searching for their own protection on a trade route besieged with the fallout of the recent uprising. The Korenat’s plight might not have striken Ree so deeply, but they are accompanied by their own Archeron, who seems to know much more about Ree’s own origins than she ever dared to hope.

Lushly woven against a foreign, and yet familiar, fantastical setting, this is the second epic adventure in Marie Brennan’s novella series with Tor.com. Only such an acclaimed and beloved fantasist could so deftly handle the intricacies of self and society, the struggle between reclaiming one’s own fate and suffering the ravages that time brings to every life.

What books are you excited about this month?

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

8 Responses to “May 2017 books on my list”

  1. sjhigbee

    Well I’m certainly excited about a bunch of those books on your list! I KNOW we’re getting the new Dana Stabanow as Himself has already ordered it. I’ve also got Lightning in the Blood on my TBR list and am looking forward to tucking into that one, but I’ll be looking to also get hold of The Gathering Edge! As for books I’m looking forward to reading – I’m hoping to start reading the Talon series by Julie Kagawa and continue forward with the Lady Trent Chronicles by Marie Brennon and the Saven series by Siobhan Davis. Let’s hope we both have a brilliant May!
    sjhigbee recently posted…While the Morning Stars SingMy Profile

    • Jan

      The Dana Stabenow books are really good, aren’t they? I’m behind in this series, but want to get caught up when I can. I haven’t read any of the Lady Trent Chronicles though I do have the first book. One of these days . . . .
      Jan recently posted…Sunday Post: More fence buildingMy Profile

  2. Nathan

    I really liked River of Teeth. Good story. I should see if I have a copy of All Systems Red; I think I do for some reason.
    Nathan recently posted…A Book Haul PostMy Profile