Posts Categorized: reviews

The rest of the short reviews from 2015

February 12, 2016 2015, A-, Audiobook Challenge, Audiobooks, B, B+, book rating, C+, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews, TBR Pile 2

I’ve finally finished all my reviews for 2015 with these last six shorts. Three of these are short stories, one is a book of short stories and the other two are novels. I have two science fiction, three fantasies and one contemporary fiction. These are very short snippets of reviews…lol. At least I have a post about them which makes me happy! “Earth and Fire” & Earth 2788 by Janet Edwards “Earth and Fire” is a prequel novella. It’s a story about Jarra when she learns to fly a plane (takes place before the trilogy Ms. Edwards wrote). I enjoyed the glimpse into Jarra’s life before the books began. Grade:… Read more »

Divider

The Fine Art of Murder by Emily Barnes

The Fine Art of Murder by Emily Barnes

February 9, 2016 2016, B-, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

The Fine Art of Murder by Emily Barnes Series: Katherine Sullivan Mystery #1 Genre: Contemporary Mystery Setting: Edina, Minnesota–now a suburb of Minneapolis Published by Crooked Lane Books, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: Feb 9) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 304 pages Grade: B- Synopsis: Former Police Chief Katherine Sullivan has been called brilliant, brave, compassionate, and quirky, but after decades of crime fighting, this resilient grandmother with an artist’s soul is discovering that retirement can be just as deadly as being on the job. When Katherine returned to her hometown,… Read more »

Divider

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy

February 8, 2016 2016, B, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy Series: A Jake and Laura Mystery #4 Genre: Historical Mystery Setting: NYC & Pennsylvania, the Great Depression (1935) Published by Alibi, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: February 9) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 237 pages Grade: B Synopsis: The irresistible Jake & Laura return in Michael Murphy’s witty, fast-paced mystery series—perfect for readers of Dorothy Cannell and Christopher Fowler. In The Big Brush-off, the charming and indomitable duo heads to the Midwest to solve a chilling cold case of a young girl’s murder. Blackie Doyle… Read more »

Divider

Dreaming Death by J. Kathleen Cheney

Dreaming Death by J. Kathleen Cheney

February 2, 2016 2016, B+, book rating, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 8

Dreaming Death by J. Kathleen Cheney Series: Palace of Dreams #1 Genre: Fantasy Setting: a fantasy world with sensitives and complex political systems Published by Roc, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: February 2) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 400 pages Grade: B+ Synopsis: Shironne Anjir’s status as a sensitive is both a gift and a curse. Her augmented senses allow her to discover and feel things others can’t, but her talents come with a price: a constant assault of emotions and sensations has left her blind. Determined to use her abilities… Read more »

Divider

The Leftovers–Sci-Fi & Fantasy Reviews

The Leftovers–Sci-Fi & Fantasy Reviews

January 30, 2016 2015, 2016, B+, book rating, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

Another set of mini-reviews from books I read in 2015 The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet #1 Published 2014, 518 pages Science Fiction (space opera) Action-packed and fun, rollicking science fiction space opera. I read this book as part of Sci-Fi Month 2015 and a read-along in November and even though the last part of November (Thanksgiving) kept me from participating in weeks 3 and 4 of the read-along I loved talking with others about this book. You can check out my week one and week two posts. However, if you plan to read the book watch out… Read more »

Divider

Mystery Reviews

Mystery Reviews

January 22, 2016 2015, 2016, B, B-, B+, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews, TBR Pile 2

I have a few books I read in 2015, but didn’t get reviewed. I’ve decided to group them together in three or four posts. Mysteries come first! A Man of Some Repute by Elizabeth Edmondson A Very English Mystery #1 Published 2015, 306 pages Historical Mystery–England, 1953 I really enjoyed this mystery. I haven’t read too many books written in this time period. Real events are the background for this historical mystery. Donald Maclean and Guy Burgess defected to the Soviet Union in the summer of 1951. They were both part of what later became known as the Cambridge Spy Ring because they were recruited in the 1930’s when they… Read more »

Divider

Hot Toy by Jennifer Crusie

Hot Toy by Jennifer Crusie

December 18, 2015 2015, book rating, C+, Goodreads, Reading Challenges, reviews, TBR Pile 2

“Hot Toy” by Jennifer Crusie Series: None–part of an anthology Genre: Contemporary Romance Setting: United States Published by St. Martin’s Paperbacks, 2006 Paperback, purchased 104 pages Grade: C+ Synopsis: Get ready for a holiday season you’ll never forget with three of today’s most sensational writers who know what every woman wants for the holidays. You’ll believe in Santa all over again with these seductive stories from:   JENNIFER CRUSIE Mayhem ensues under the mistletoe as a determined shopper grabs the very last hot toy action figure off the shelf, only to find herself plunged into the middle of a real-life spy game–in the arms of a sexy secret agent. . …. Read more »

Divider

Christmas Miracles by Mary Balogh

Christmas Miracles by Mary Balogh

December 17, 2015 2015, B+, book rating, Goodreads, Reading Challenges, reviews 1

Christmas Miracles by Mary Balogh Series: None Genre: Historical Romance Setting: Regency England at Christmastime Published by Class Ebooks Editions, Ltd., 2015 E-book, purchased 170 pages Grade: B+ Synopsis: CHRISTMAS MIRACLES brings together three previously published and long out-of-print novellas, each of which demonstrates how the wonder of the season can bring together two would-be lovers or two estranged lovers and create a bond between them that will last a lifetime and beyond. In “The Wassail Bowl” an aristocrat has summoned his young son to a family house party but is disconcerted when his estranged wife and her illegitimate daughter arrive with him. When he expresses his displeasure, she picks up… Read more »

Divider

“You Again” by JoAnn Ross

“You Again” by JoAnn Ross

December 16, 2015 2015, B, book rating, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews, TBR Pile 2

“You Again” by JoAnn Ross Series: Shelter Bay #6.5 Genre: Contemporary Romance Setting: NYC & Shelter Bay, Oregon Published by Catlelough Publishing LLC, 2014 E-book, purchased 172 pages Grade: B Synopsis: A book nerd, a brainiac science guy, and a misplaced killer whale… Meghann Quinn wasn’t always a hugely successful author. Adam Wayne wasn’t always a marine biologist studying whales. Back in high school in Shelter Bay, Oregon, she was the shy book nerd helping the brainiac science guy pass English. Meghann had no idea Adam would turn into such a hottie. Adam has no idea their once-upon-a-time sweet summer romance inspired Meghann’s popular teen novels. Two shy geeks didn’t have the courage to share their true feelings back then…. Read more »

Divider

Not a Creature was Stirring by Jane Haddam

Not a Creature was Stirring by Jane Haddam

December 12, 2015 2015, B, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

Not a Creature was Stirring by Jane Haddam Series: Gregor Demarkian #1 Genre: Mystery Setting: Philadelphia Published by Mysterious.com/Open Road, 2013 (originally published 1990) E-book, Kindle Unlimited 327 pages Grade: B Synopsis: For former FBI agent Gregor Demarkian, retirement has just come to an abrupt end. What started as a mysterious summons to a Christmas Eve feast at multimillionaire Robert Hannaford’s isolated country estate was now an invitation to a murder scene. Demerol and a blood-covered statue had ensured that. Red ribbon, green wreaths, and spilled blue blood… Christmas can be murder on the Philadelphia main line! Add the late patriarch’s penchant for making enemies, seven siblings with ample reasons… Read more »

Divider