Posts Categorized: reviews

Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs

March 8, 2016 2016, A-, book rating, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews, Science Fiction/Fantasy Bingo Reading Challenge 6

Fire Touched by Patricia Briggs Series: Mercy Thompson #9 Genre: Urban Fantasy Setting: Tri-cities area of Washington State Published by Ace, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: March 8) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 352 pages Grade: A- Synopsis: Tensions between the fae and humans are coming to a head. And when coyote shapeshifter Mercy and her Alpha werewolf mate, Adam, are called upon to stop a rampaging troll, they find themselves with something that could be used to make the fae back down and forestall out-and-out war: a human child stolen… Read more »

Divider

Killing Trail by Margaret Mizushima

Killing Trail by Margaret Mizushima

March 4, 2016 2016, A-, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, I love Libraries, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

Killing Trail by Margaret Mizushima Series: A Timber Creek K-9 Mystery #1 Genre: Contemporary Mystery, Police Procedural Setting: Timber Creek, Colorado–the high country in Colorado Published by Crooked Lane Publishing, 2015 Hardback, Library 320 pages Grade: A- Synopsis: When a young girl is found dead in the mountains outside Timber Creek, life-long resident Officer Mattie Cobb and her partner, K-9 police dog Robo, are assigned to the case that has rocked the small Colorado town. With the help of Cole Walker, local veterinarian and a single father, Mattie and Robo must track down the truth before it claims another victim. But the more Mattie investigates, the more she realizes how many… Read more »

Divider

Second Street Station by Lawrence H. Levy

Second Street Station by Lawrence H. Levy

February 26, 2016 2016, B, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

Second Street Station by Lawrence H. Levy Series: Mary Handley Mystery #1 Genre: Historical Mystery, Police Procedural Setting: Brooklyn, 1888 Published by Broadway Books, 2015 E-book, purchased 336 pages Grade: B Synopsis: Mary Handley is a not your typical late-nineteenth century lady. She’s fiery, clever, daring—and she’s not about to conform to the gender norms of the day. Not long after being fired from her job at the hat factory for insubordinate behavior, Mary finds herself at the murder scene of Charles Goodrich, the brother of a prominent alderman and former bookkeeper of Thomas Edison. When Mary proves her acumen as a sleuth, she is hired by the Brooklyn police department—as… Read more »

Divider

Shards of Murder by Cheryl Hollon

Shards of Murder by Cheryl Hollon

February 25, 2016 2016, B, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 6

Shards of Murder by Cheryl Hollon Series: A Webb’s Glass Shop Mystery #2 Genre: Mystery (cozy) Setting: St. Petersburg, Florida Published by Kensington, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: Feb 23) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 304 pages Grade: B Synopsis: When a glass-making competition turns deadly, glass shop owner Savannah Webb must search for a window into a criminal’s mind… As the new proprietor of Webb’s Glass Shop, Savannah has been appointed to fill her late father’s shoes as a judge for the Spinnaker Arts Festival, held in downtown St. Petersburg,… Read more »

Divider

Out of the Blues by Trudy Nan Boyce

Out of the Blues by Trudy Nan Boyce

February 22, 2016 2016, B+, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 4

Out of the Blues by Trudy Nan Boyce Series: Unknown Genre: Mystery, Police Procedural Setting: Atlanta, Georgia Published by G.P. Putnam’s, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: Feb 23) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 352 pages Grade: B+ Synopsis: From an author with more than thirty years’ experience in the Atlanta Police Department comes a riveting procedural debut introducing an unforgettable heroine. On her first day as a newly minted homicide detective, Sarah “Salt” Alt is given the cold-case murder of a blues musician whose death was originally ruled an accidental drug… Read more »

Divider

Murder in an Irish Village by Carlene O’Connor

Murder in an Irish Village by Carlene O’Connor

February 19, 2016 2016, B+, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 3

Murder in an Irish Village by Carlene O’Connor Series: Unknown (but I hope so!) Genre: Contemporary Mystery Setting: Kilbane, County Cork, Ireland Published by Kensington, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: Feb 23) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 304 pages Grade: B+ Synopsis: In the small village of Kilbane, County Cork, Ireland, Natalie’s Bistro has always been a warm and welcoming spot to visit with neighbors, enjoy some brown bread and tea, and get the local gossip. Nowadays twenty-two-year-old Siobhán O’Sullivan runs the family bistro named for her mother, along with her… Read more »

Divider

Twisted Threads by Lea Wait

Twisted Threads by Lea Wait

February 16, 2016 2016, B+, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 8

Twisted Threads by Lea Wait Series: Mainely Needlepoint #1 Genre: Mystery (cozy) Setting: Harbor Haven, Maine Published by Kensington, 2015 E-book, purchased 320 pages Grade: B+ Synopsis: Returning to the quaint coastal town of Harbor Haven, Maine—a place she once called home—Angie Curtis finds her memories aren’t all quite pleasant ones… After leaving a decade ago, Angie has been called back to Harbor Haven by her grandmother, Charlotte, who raised her following her mother’s disappearance when she was a child. Her mother has been found, and now the question of her whereabouts has sadly become the mystery of her murder. The bright spot in Angie’s homecoming is reuniting with Charlotte, who… Read more »

Divider

The rest of the short reviews from 2015

February 12, 2016 2015, A-, Audiobook Challenge, Audiobooks, B, B+, book rating, C+, Goodreads, New Author Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews, TBR Pile 2

I’ve finally finished all my reviews for 2015 with these last six shorts. Three of these are short stories, one is a book of short stories and the other two are novels. I have two science fiction, three fantasies and one contemporary fiction. These are very short snippets of reviews…lol. At least I have a post about them which makes me happy! “Earth and Fire” & Earth 2788 by Janet Edwards “Earth and Fire” is a prequel novella. It’s a story about Jarra when she learns to fly a plane (takes place before the trilogy Ms. Edwards wrote). I enjoyed the glimpse into Jarra’s life before the books began. Grade:… Read more »

Divider

The Fine Art of Murder by Emily Barnes

The Fine Art of Murder by Emily Barnes

February 9, 2016 2016, B-, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

The Fine Art of Murder by Emily Barnes Series: Katherine Sullivan Mystery #1 Genre: Contemporary Mystery Setting: Edina, Minnesota–now a suburb of Minneapolis Published by Crooked Lane Books, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: Feb 9) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 304 pages Grade: B- Synopsis: Former Police Chief Katherine Sullivan has been called brilliant, brave, compassionate, and quirky, but after decades of crime fighting, this resilient grandmother with an artist’s soul is discovering that retirement can be just as deadly as being on the job. When Katherine returned to her hometown,… Read more »

Divider

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy

February 8, 2016 2016, B, book rating, Cloak & Dagger Mystery Reading Challenge, Goodreads, NetGalley, Netgalley & Edelweiss Reading Challenge, New Author Challenge, New Release Challenge, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

The Big Brush-Off by Michael Murphy Series: A Jake and Laura Mystery #4 Genre: Historical Mystery Setting: NYC & Pennsylvania, the Great Depression (1935) Published by Alibi, 2016 Format: e-Arc (Release Date: February 9) –I received a review copy of this book from the Publisher in exchange for an honest review. The opinions stated here are entirely my own. 237 pages Grade: B Synopsis: The irresistible Jake & Laura return in Michael Murphy’s witty, fast-paced mystery series—perfect for readers of Dorothy Cannell and Christopher Fowler. In The Big Brush-off, the charming and indomitable duo heads to the Midwest to solve a chilling cold case of a young girl’s murder. Blackie Doyle… Read more »

Divider