WoW: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Krisiti Charish

WoW: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Krisiti Charish

November 26, 2014 2014, Kristi Charish, Owl and the Japanese Circus, Waiting on Wednesday 0

I’m participating in Waiting on Wednesday occasionally. Breaking the Spine blog hosts Waiting on Wednesday–a time each week we can spotlight upcoming releases. Visit the blog to find out more information and to leave your link on her blog.   The book I’m excited about this week: Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish Series: The Adventures of Owl #1 Publication Date: January 13, 2015 Synopsis from Goodreads: Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now as Owl—has one… Read more »

Divider

My winter reading list . . .

My winter reading list . . .

November 25, 2014 2014, 2015, My Winter TBR List, Top Ten Tuesday 3

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme which I participate in occasionally. It’s a great meme and is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog. Every week a new topic is presented. It’s not only fun to think about my own list, but to read what other people come up with! This week we talk about the books we are most looking forward to reading this winter. I have lots of great books I want to read!   New Winter Books 1. Foxglove Summer by Ben Aaronovitch (Peter Grant #5) 2. The Unquiet Dead by Ausma Zehnat Khan (Debut mystery) 3. Dreaming Spies by Laurie R. King (Mary Russell… Read more »

Divider

Sunday Post: Nov 23

Sunday Post: Nov 23

November 23, 2014 2014, Sunday Post 20

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone who celebrates!   The Sunday Post is a meme hosted by Kimba at Caffeinated Book Reviewer. I like this meme because it gives me an opportunity to take a look back at last week and forward to next week in both my personal life and my blog and book life! I also like to see what other people are doing and what books everyone is reading. This is a great meme to take part in every week and I thank Kimba for hosting it!   Last Week Home & blog It was a very busy week. Lots to do to get ready for Thanksgiving. I’ve also… Read more »

Divider

Blog Ahead: Week 3

Blog Ahead: Week 3

November 22, 2014 2014, Blog Ahead, Blog Challenges 1

This blog challenge is hosted by Anna @ Herding Cats & Burning Soup blog. The idea is to have at least 30 extra pre-scheduled blog posts at the end of November. The challenge begins on November 1 and continues until the end of November. It’s a blogging version of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) which also takes place during November. My Progress: I have 15 extra posts scheduled now for November and December. I had hoped to get a few more done this week since I don’t know that I’ll get too much done this last week. However, I’m glad to have this much done! Come back and check my… Read more »

Divider

Review: Dreaming of the Bones by Deborah Crombie

Review: Dreaming of the Bones by Deborah Crombie

November 21, 2014 2014, A-, book rating, Deborah Crombie, Dreaming of the Bones, Goodreads, Reading Challenges, reviews 4

Dreaming of the Bones by Deborah Crombie Series: Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James series, Book 5 Genre: Mystery, Police Procedural (British) Published by Scribner, 1997 E-book, Purchased 355 pages Grade: A- Synopsis: It is the call Scotland Yard Superintendent Duncan Kincaid never expected — and one he certainly doesn’t want. Victoria, his ex-wife, who walked out without an explanation more than a decade ago, asks him to look into the suicide of local poet, Lydia Brooke — a case that’s been officially closed for five years. The troubled young writer’s death, Victoria claims, might well have been murder. No one is more surprised than Kincaid himself when he agrees to… Read more »

Divider

Review: Mourn Not Your Dead by Deborah Crombie

Review: Mourn Not Your Dead by Deborah Crombie

November 20, 2014 2014, B+, book rating, Deborah Crombie, Goodreads, Mourn Not Your Dead, Reading Challenges, reviews 2

  Mourn Not Your Dead by Deborah Crombie Series: Duncan Kincaid & Gemma James series, Book 4 Genre: Mystery, Police Procedural (British) Published by Scribner, 1997 E-book, Purchased 310 pages Grade: B+ Synopsis: The murder at Holmbury St Mary was not one that Superintendent Duncan Kincaid of Scotland Yard would relish investigating. A man has been beaten to death in his own home. A man who just happened to be Commander Alastair Gilbert of the Metropolitan Police… Only adding to Kincaid’s problems are his tangled personal feelings for Sergeant Gemma James. And in an investigation of this importance neither can afford a breakdown in their relationship. Combining subtle emotional nuances… Read more »

Divider

TBR Review: A Regency Christmas II by Putney, Mills, Balogh, Kelly & Walsh

TBR Review: A Regency Christmas II by Putney, Mills, Balogh, Kelly & Walsh

November 19, 2014 2014, B, book rating, Goodreads, Ho-Ho-Ho Holiday Read-a-Thon, New Author Challenge 2014, novella review, Read-a-Thons, Reading Challenges, TBR Challenge 2014, TBR Pile 2014 1

  A Regency Christmas II Five Stories by Mary Jo Putney, Anita Mills, Mary Balogh, Carla Kelly, Sheila Walsh Series: None Genre: Historical Romance (Christmas) Published by Signet, 1990 Paperback, purchased 347 pages Overall grade: B Synopsis: This warm and delightful collection brings together five all-new stories of Christmas by some of the most beloved and highly acclaimed Regency authors. Written especially for the new edition, these delightful tales capture the spirit of Christmas ritual and tradition, its hopes and heartbreaks, its joys and passions. These are stories that reflect happy reunions and homecomings, the fun and festivities, the pleasures of giving, and, of course, the love and goodwill that… Read more »

Divider

Sequels I want to read

Sequels I want to read

November 18, 2014 2014, Sequels I want to read, Top Ten Tuesday 22

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme which I participate in when I can. It’s a great meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish blog. Every week a new topic is presented. It’s not only fun to think about my own list, but to read what other people come up with! Today we talk about the sequels we want to read. 1. The Ghost Brigades by John Scalzi (Old Man’s War series #2) 2. Split Second by Kasie West (Pivot Point series #2) 3. One Good Dragon Deserves Another by Rachel Aaron (Heartstrikers series #2) 4. Underground by Kat Richardson (Greywalker #3) 5. Midnight Blue-Light Special by Seanan McGuire… Read more »

Divider

COYER Goals

COYER Goals

November 17, 2014 2014, 2015, COYER Winter, Reading Challenges 11

Winter 2014-2015 COYER will run Saturday, December 20th 2014 to Friday, March 6th 2015. Signups are open from mid-November through Sunday, January 25th. The reading challenge is hosted by Berls @ Fantasy is More Fun and Michelle @ Because Reading. This time there is a referral challenge. When you sign-up there’s a place to add the person who referred you so if you sign-up because you saw my post please add my name. Thanks! My Goals I have a few ideas about what I’ll read, but first I need to go through my books and see which books will work for the challenge. I’m limited to E-Books and Audiobooks that… Read more »

Divider

Blog Ahead–Week Two

Blog Ahead–Week Two

November 17, 2014 2014, Blog Ahead, Blog Challenges 3

This blog challenge is hosted by Anna @ Herding Cats & Burning Soup blog. The idea is to have at least 30 extra pre-scheduled blog posts at the end of November. The challenge begins on November 1 and continues until the end of November. It’s a blogging version of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) which also takes place during November. My Progress: I have 10 extra posts scheduled now for November and December. Come check my progress each week   by

Divider